Thai Red Curry Paste (a la Jennifer)

14 Feb

I was making a dish that called for red curry paste.  I couldn’t find it in the grocery store so I thought I’d google it to see what the ingredients were, and then make it myself.  To my dismay it was a somewhat complicated recipe requiring a food processor (which Derek dropped and broke) and including ingredients I don’t typically stock (i.e. lemongrass).  So I took a number of the ingredients I had stocked in my cupboards and came up with a product with which I was quite pleased.

Whisk together the following:

  • a good, long squirt of hot sauce (I use Huy Fong brand of Sriracha hot chili sauce or, as I like to call it, “rooster” sauce)
  • three cloves garlic, minced
  • a few dashes of ground ginger
  • a dash of fresh ground pepper
  • a dash of cumin
  • about 2 T. soy sauce
  • a small squirt of anchovy paste (or oyster or fish sauce)
  • a couple dashes of sugar
  • a dash of chili powder

Comments
Leave a Reply

