Tuna Mousse

21 Dec

My Grandma Young always makes this around the holidays.  I’m not usually out in California to enjoy hers anymore so I’ve learned to make it myself.  I’ve had it once this holiday season and plan to make it twice more.  It’s perfect if you know you’re going to be rushed on the day you need it; it can (and should) be made in advance and will keep quite a while.  If I’m going to serve it at a gathering, I’ll sometimes put it in a mold, or maybe just in a nice dish.  Otherwise it goes into my glass mixing bowl with a lid.  Tastes just as good that way.

Ingredients

  • 2 cans tuna
  • 8 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 1 cup real mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • 3 small envelopes Knox gelatin
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped

Blend all ingredients with a hand mixer. Either pour into a small mold or into a serving dish and allow to set in the refrigerator for 1-2 days. Serve with your favorite crackers.

recipe by Grandma Young

photo by tastespotting.com

Leave a Reply

