Roasted Pork Tenderloin

28 Dec

We celebrated Christmas today with my mom, my brother, and my sister-in-law.  I made this along with my mashed broccoli potatoes (which I am addicted to, by the way) and my basil green beans with tomatoes.  I also made these cinnamon apples that my friend, Lisa, introduced to me at a ladies lunch.  I will have to post my version here soon.  This pork is flash roasted to seal in the juices (probably not the correct term but I don’t know if I’ve ever set my oven to 500F before).  It turned out moist and the rub is a very complimentary flavor for a roasted white meat.  My roast was in two pieces and totaled just over two pounds (just what the recipe calls for) and it was on for 26 minutes, rather than the 18 minutes suggested.  I used a slow-mo meat thermometer and that may have been the difference; it was probably slightly overbaked.

Ingredients

  • 2 large cloves garlic
  • 1½ teaspoons coarse salt
  • 1 teaspoon dried sage
  • ¼ teaspoon pepper
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 trimmed pork tenderloins (about 1 pound each), at room temperature

Position a rack near the bottom of the oven and preheat to 500°. Mince together the garlic, salt, sage and pepper. In a small bowl, combine with the oil. Rub all over the meat and place the tenderloins side by side but not touching in the smallest roasting pan that will hold them. Roast for 10 minutes, flip over and roast again until the internal temperature registers 155° on an instant-read thermometer, about 8 minutes more. Let rest for about 10 minutes (the internal temperature should reach 160°). Slice into ½-inch-thick slices.

recipe taken from rachaelraymag.com

photo from bigboldbeautifulfood.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

