Sausage, Potato, and Egg Skillet

24 Mar

Easy? Yes.  Tasty? Definitely.  Quick? Not so much.  The first time I made this I followed the food.com recipe and browned the sausage on its own first, the potatoes second, and the onion/garlic last.  I swear the whole thing took me two hours so this time around I combined the sausage/onion/garlic in order to eliminate a step.  I don’t know how, but it seemed to cut off close to twenty minutes.  It probably took me closer to an hour and a half this time, and I was somewhat delayed by not having had the potatoes cooked ahead of time.  There is not a lot of prep time and it is super simple, but just takes a while to complete.  So plan ahead.

The original recipe also calls for 2 onion and six eggs.  I have found that one onion is enough for my taste.  I like the way the egg holds everything together but didn’t want it to be too “eggy.”  I used only three eggs both times, used milk instead of half-n-half and cut the sugar to 1 tablespoon.  I think it turns out perfectly this way.  I may try adding an egg next time just to see what I think, but I like just the hint of sweetness and definitely don’t think it needs any more sugar.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb breakfast sausage
  • 1-2 medium onions
  • 2 medium potatoes, boiled with skins on
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3-6 large eggs
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup half-n-half or milk
  • 1-2 tablespoons sugar
  • ½ cup shredded cheese (any preferred type)
  • salt and pepper
In a 10-inch cast iron skillet brown sausage and onion until crumbly and medium brown in color.  Stir as required.  Add garlic and cook till aromatic.
While sausage is browning peel potatoes and cut in to 1/2-inch cubes.
After browning, remove sausage mixture from pan with a slotted spoon, add potatoes to pan and carefully brown them in the sausage fat.  Return sausage mixture to pan, season with salt and pepper and mix well with potatoes.
Light whisk eggs, half-and-half and sugar till slightly foamy.  Pour egg mixture over sausage/potato/onion, sprinkle on 1/2 the cheese and mix, sprinkle remaining cheese on top.
Place pan in 400° oven; cook for 10-20 minutes (depending on how many eggs you used and how you like your eggs). Keep an eye on the pan–if the cheese gets too brown, then cover with buttered aluminum foil.
Photos by mylittlefoodspot
Leave a Reply

