Chipotle Steak

14 Jun
We don’t make this one often but I often wonder why.  My theory is that steak is such a special treat for me that I don’t generally like to doctor it up; I prefer to enjoy it in its natural, unaltered form.  These flavors play so well together, though, that it does the exact opposite of “ruining a good thing.”  Try it and I am certain you will agree that it truly elevates your favorite cut of beef.
On the night pictured in this photo I also added a sliced bell pepper to the grill.
Ingredients
  • 2 6-8 oz. steaks of your choice
  • 1 canned chipotle pepper in adobo sauce, chopped, plus 2 tsp. adobo sauce
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup cider vinegar
  • 3 medium tomatoes, cut in thick slices
  • 2 medium avocados, halved, pitted, peeled and sliced
  • 1/2 small onion, thinly sliced

Sprinkle steaks with salt and pepper. Spread each with 1 tsp. of the adobo sauce.

Grill steak over medium coals, turning once. Allow 12-15 minutes for medium. Grill onion on foil till slightly tender.

For dressing, in screw-top jar combine chopped chipotle pepper, oil and vinegar. Shake.

Slice steaks. Serve with tomatoes and avocado slices. Add onion; drizzle dressing.

 

Recipe taken from Better Homes and Gardens

Photo by me, My Little Food Spot

Leave a Reply

