Beefy Spanish Rice

6 Aug

As many times as I have made this, I wondered why it hadn’t made it to this blog.  I generally have all the ingredients on hand and it’s a super easy, quick fix when I don’t know what to make.  I last made it with home-frozen tomatoes.  I typically squeeze as much juice out of them as I can before freezing and they were still way too juicy.  So, if you’re substituting fresh or frozen tomatoes, you’ll probably need to experiment on how much juice to drain from them.  We always scoop it up with tortilla chips.  And in case you care, I love any kind of olive, but Derek takes his without.

Ingredients

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 28 oz. can whole tomatoes, undrained and chopped
  • 1 T instant minced onion
  • 2 T chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. pepper
  • 1 cup instant long-grain rice, uncooked
  • Garnish: pimiento-stuffed olives

Brown ground beef in a large skillet, stirring until it crumbles.  Drain and return to skillet.  Add tomatoes, onion, chili powder, salt and pepper, stirring well.  Bring to a boil and add rice.  Cover, reduce heat and simmer 5 minutes, or until rice is tender.  Garnish, if desired and serve with tortilla chips.

Picture by me, My Little Food Spot

Leave a Reply

