Bean Calico

27 Aug

bean calico 01-001

This is a spin-off of a meal Derek enjoyed while growing up.  He asks for ground beef and baked beans on occasion and generally that’s exactly what he gets.  A skillet of burger and Bush’s beans.  A friend made this recipe for us after Henry’s birth and I enjoyed it much more than our version.  This is very slightly more complex but definitely glorified.

When I prepare it on a whim, I usually leave out the bacon, only because I don’t generally keep it on hand.  My only other variance is that I always prepare it with whatever beans I have in the pantry.  Even when I’m planning ahead, I’ve found that canned lima beans can be difficult to find.  Fortunately, it’s equally good with cannellini or great white northern beans.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 pound bacon, diced
  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 can pork and beans
  • 15 oz. can kidney beans, drained
  • 15 oz. can lima beans, drained
  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 T vinegar

Brown bacon, beef, and onion; drain.  Combine all ingredients.

Simmer on stove or bake in 350F oven for 40 minutes.

bean calico 02-001

Recipe from Erica Timperley

Pictures by me, MyLittleFoodSpot

Leave a Reply

