Asian Pasta Salad

4 Sep

One of the best cookbooks I have ever invested in is my Southern Living: Easy Weeknight Favorites.  I purchased it around the time we were married and, after eight years, I have probably made about every recipe in it, loving all but a handful.  I have made this salad a few times and definitely enjoy the texture and favors.  My only complaint is that it is very difficult to get a good bite-full on a fork.  It may work better with a shorter noodle, but I would miss the texture of the linguine.  I will try it sometime and update with my thoughts, or, better yet, someone else try it and let me know.

Ingredients

  • 8 ounces dry linguine
  • 3 cups broccoli florets
  • 12 cherry tomatoes (halved)
  • 4 green onions (sliced)
  • 2 large carrots (sliced diagonally)
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons sesame seeds (toasted)
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons dark sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon hot sauce
  • 2 garlic cloves (minced)

In large pot with boiling water, cook pasta. Drain, rinse pasta with cold water and let drain again. Place pasta in a large salad bowl, add broccoli, next 3 ingredients and toss well. In a small bowl or jar with lid, combine soy sauce and remaining 6 ingredients. Whisk together or cover tightly and shake vigorously. Pour mixture over pasta and toss gently.

Picture by me, My Little Food Spot

Leave a Reply

