What is a relish tray?

7 Sep

I was recently asked to bring a relish tray to a family event.  I immediately assumed the hostess was envisioning a veggie tray until Derek asked me what a relish tray was.  Maybe it’s not so simple.  My general impression, in this part of the country, is that the term relish tray can be used interchangeably with veggie tray, but I also kind of pictured a relish tray as possessing a combination of fresh and pickled vegetables.  I did a little internet research and gathered that “relish” and “crudites (CREW-dee-tay)” trays are the same thing and that they can be any type of appetizer tray, including, but not limited to, cheese and crackers, salamis and other cured and deli meats, fresh and pickled vegetables, and an array of dips.  I didn’t think my hostess probably really cared what I brought so I put together a tray of dill pickles, an assortment of olives, carrots, celery with and without a pimiento/cheese spread, fresh mushrooms and a dill ranch dip.

The celery with pimiento-spread went quickly and I received many inquiries as to what was on the celery.  The mushrooms, pickles, and olives were gone by the end of the day, although I’m pretty sure I and Derek’s Aunts Kay and Verna are the only ones who ate any olives.  The two most common components of a veggie tray, baby carrots and plain celery, were the only items left.

There doesn’t appear to be a right or wrong, so, bottom line, if you think your hosts have a specific idea in mind, ask them.

And now I put that question to you, my probably one lone reader, what would you put on a relish tray?  Don’t be intimidated by being the first to leave a comment.  You may be the only one to respond and make my day :0)

 

Recipe dependent upon who you ask.

Photo by me, My Little Food Spot.

Leave a Reply

