Grilled Burgers

21 Sep

I love a nice medium burger with a juicy pink center.  Unfortunately, that’s not a very safe option for me, let alone my young’uns.  My dilemma: I want to practice good food safety, but I am sick of eating dry, overcooked hamburgers that I have to wash down with a glass of milk.  Enter: the moist maker.  Some people disgustedly call it “filler”, but I have discovered that about 1/4 cup of quick oats per pound of ground beef is just enough to hold the juices in and create a sumptuous, delectable hamburger.  Don’t forget the works.

Ingredients

  • 1 pound lean ground beef
  • 1/4 cup quick cooking oats
  • 1 tablespoon favorite seasoning (I use McCormick’s Hamburger or Misty’s Steakhouse)

Mix ingredients well (nobody wants a straight shot of salty seasoning in a single bite) and form into patties.  Grill over medium heat until juices run clear.  Top with your favorite condiments and enjoy.

Recipe and photo by me, My Little Food Spot

Leave a Reply

