Classic Two-Meat Chili

22 Feb

classic two meat chili01I found this recipe in some slow cooker cookbook but have found, over time, that I prefer just about everything prepared by some method other than a crockpot.  The flavors of this soup are very well balanced and I have always loved the addition of the ground sausage so I had to adapt it to a stovetop method (didn’t take too much genius).  I sometimes eliminate the “spicy” from the sausage and/or the beans, depending upon my mood, what’s stocked in my cupboard and what’s available at the supermarket.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb lean ground beef
  • 1/2 lb Jimmy Dean spicy ground pork sausage
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 28 oz can stewed tomatoes, undrained
  • 15 oz can tomato sauce
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 30 oz can spicy chili beans, undrained

In a dutch oven or other heavy pot, cook ground beef, sausage and onion; drain.

Add remaining ingredients, bring to a boil and simmer for at least an hour (up to 3 or more hours) to allow the flavors to meld.

Photo by me, My Little Food Spot

Leave a Reply

